Olivier Benchaya

CPA, CA, CIRP, LIT

Partner

Contact

Phone: 514.934.8618
Address: 1981 McGill College, 11th Floor
Montréal, QC H3A 0G6

Services:

Insolvency & Restructuring, Consulting Services

Olivier Benchaya is a partner in the Restructuring and Insolvency group of the Richter Advisory Group Inc. division. He possesses a keen business sense and the ability to quickly identify key issues to be addressed. Moreover, Olivier is attuned to his clients and adept at working with the various stakeholders in order to find effective solutions. His roles include guiding business leaders through uncertain financial periods to ensure their renewed prosperity and growth.

Olivier is often called upon to develop restructuring plans and financial projections and implement corrective actions. He has played a key role in many major and complex restructuring projects. Among them, he was involved in the reorganization of a major retailer with over 150 locations in Canada. Through the team’s negotiations, analysis and proposed restructuring, the retailer was able to weather this critical situation and regain the path toward profitability.

Olivier draws on his technical expertise and skills as a mediator to create an atmosphere of trust, which gives rise to solutions that are tailored to each situation. He is able to foster collaboration between stakeholders and evaluate courses of action to turn a business around, and this in the interest of all parties. 

Fields of expertise

  • Financial restructurings and business turnarounds
  • Development and review of financial projections
  • Insolvency
  • Sale of business units
  • Refinancing
  • Debt and equity restructuring

Industries

  • Retail
  • Manufacturing
  • Telecommunications
  • High technology
  • Finance
  • Hospital sector

Professional and community involvement

  • Member of the Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals, since 2011


Academic background

  • Licensed Insolvency Trustee, 2014
  • Chartered Insolvency and Restructuring Professional (CIRP), 2014 
  • Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA), 2005
  • Graduate Diploma in Accounting, John Molson School of Business, 2005
  • B.Com. with distinction, John Molson School of Business, 2003

Olivier Benchaya

CPA, CA, CIRP, SAI

Associé

Coordonnées

Téléphone : 514.934.8618
Adresse : 1981 McGill College, 11e étage
Montréal (QC) H3A 0G6

Services :

Insolvabilité et restructuration, Services-conseils

M. Olivier Benchaya est associé au sein de la division de l’insolvabilité et de la restructuration d’entreprises. Doté d’un bon sens des affaires et à l’écoute de ses clients, il sait déterminer rapidement les enjeux importants et  travailler conjointement avec les divers intervenants pour trouver des solutions efficaces. Il accompagne, entre autres, les dirigeants d’organisations qui traversent des périodes d’incertitude financière afin de les faire renouer avec la rentabilité et la croissance.

M. Benchaya est souvent appelé à élaborer des plans de restructuration et des projections financières ainsi qu’à mettre en œuvre des mesures correctives. Il a participé à de nombreux mandats de restructuration complexes et de grande envergure où il a joué un rôle clé. Il a notamment pris part à la réorganisation d’un détaillant d’importance possédant plus de 150 boutiques au Canada. Grâce au travail de négociation, d’analyse et de restructuration effectué par l’équipe, ce détaillant a retrouvé le chemin de la rentabilité après avoir vécu une situation critique.

M. Benchaya s’appuie sur son expertise technique et ses qualités de médiateur pour créer un climat de confiance qui favorise l’émergence de solutions adaptées à chaque situation. Il sait encourager la collaboration entre les différents intervenants et évaluer les pistes d’action pour redresser l’entreprise, dans le meilleur intérêt de toutes les parties. 

Champs d’expertise

  • Restructuration financière et redressement d’entreprises
  • Élaboration et révision de projections financières
  • Insolvabilité
  • Vente d’unités d’exploitation
  • Refinancement
  • Restructuration des dettes et des capitaux propres

Domaines de spécialisation

  • Commerce de détail
  • Fabrication
  • Télécommunications
  • Hautes technologies
  • Finances
  • Secteur hospitalier

Engagement professionnel et social

  • Membre de l’Association canadienne des professionnels de l’insolvabilité et de la réorganisation, depuis 2011

Formation

  • Syndic autorisé en insolvabilité, 2014
  • Professionnel agréé de l'insolvabilité et de la réorganisation (CIRP), 2014
  • Comptable professionnel agréé (CPA, CA), 2005
  • D.E.S.S. en comptabilité, John Molson School of Business, 2005
  • B. Com. avec distinction, John Molson School of Business, 2003