Benoit Gingues

CPA, CA, CIRP, LIT

Partner

Contact

Phone: 514.934.3514
Address: 1981 McGill College, 11th Floor
Montréal, QC H3A 0G6

Services:

Insolvency & Restructuring, Consulting Services

Benoit Gingues is a partner with more than 25 years of experience in providing advisory services to companies facing financial difficulties or specific challenges. As a consultant, Benoit advises businesses, financial institutions and institutional investors in the context of financial restructuring and corporate turnarounds in addition to carrying out negotiations and concluding transactions involving the sale of companies or operating units in insolvency situations.

When developing a strategy for a crisis, Benoit takes a holistic approach in collaboration with senior officers, other professionals and representatives of stakeholders, leveraging the experience and expertise of key players. This collaborative approach makes it possible to rapidly identify factors influencing the company’s performance, accelerate the introduction of corrective actions in order to stabilize the situation and facilitate the implementation of practical and efficient solutions. Benoit also distinguishes himself by his business acumen, negotiating strengths and creative solutions.

Over the years, he has played a key role in a number of business sale transactions and restructurings involving operations in Canada and abroad in various industries including manufacturing and processing, retail, telecommunications, high technology, biotechnology, agriculture, food and beverage, publishing and real estate.

Benoit regularly acts as a Monitor under the Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act and a Licensed Insolvency Trustee under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, and has also been involved in numerous consensual debt restructurings. 

Fields of expertise

  • Financial restructurings and business turnarounds
  • Sale of businesses and operating units going through insolvency or particular situations
  • Refinancing
  • Debt and equity restructuring
  • Financial arrangements and bankruptcies

Industry Experience

  • Manufacturing and processing
  • Retail
  • Telecommunications
  • High technology
  • Biotechnology
  • Agriculture
  • Food and beverage
  • Publishing
  • Real estate
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Academic background

  • Chartered Insolvency and Restructuring Professional (CIRP), 1999
  • Licensed Insolvency Trustee, 1999
  • Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA), 1985
  • B.B.A., Université de Sherbrooke, 1985

Public recognition

Over the course of his career, Benoit has given a number of speeches before many professional associations and organizations on a broad range of topics relating to insolvency, restructurings and complex transactions.

Benoit is regularly asked to provide expert advice to recognized media outlets. He has contributed to articles in La Presse, Les Affaires, Le Droit, Le Journal de Montréal, The Gazette, Le Soleil and the Wall Street Journal.

Benoît Gingues

CPA, CA, CIRP, SAI

Associé

Coordonnées

Téléphone : 514.934.3514
Adresse : 1981 McGill College, 11e étage
Montréal (QC) H3A 0G6

Services :

Insolvabilité et restructuration, Services-conseils

M. Benoît Gingues est un associé comptant plus de 25 années d’expérience en services-conseils auprès d’entreprises faisant face à des difficultés financières ou à des enjeux particuliers. M. Gingues agit à titre de conseiller pour le compte d’entreprises, d’institutions financières et d’investisseurs institutionnels dans le cadre de restructurations financières et de redressements d’entreprises, en plus de mener des négociations et de conclure des transactions de vente d’entreprises ou d’unités d’exploitation en contexte d’insolvabilité.

Dans l’élaboration d’une stratégie lors d’une situation de crise, il favorise une approche holistique en collaboration avec les dirigeants, les autres professionnels et les représentants de toutes les parties intéressées, mettant ainsi à profit l’expérience et l’expertise des principaux intervenants. Cette approche collaborative permet de cerner rapidement les facteurs influençant la performance de l’entreprise, accélère la mise en place de mesures correctives afin de stabiliser la situation et favorise la mise en œuvre de solutions pratiques et efficaces. M. Gingues se démarque également par son sens des affaires, ses qualités de négociateur et sa créativité dans la résolution de problèmes.

Au cours des années, il a joué un rôle clé dans bon nombre de transactions de vente et de restructuration d’entreprises exerçant leurs activités au Canada et à l’étranger dans différents secteurs d’activité comprenant notamment la fabrication et la transformation, le commerce de détail, les télécommunications, la haute technologie, la biotechnologie, l’agriculture, l’alimentation, l’édition et l’immobilier.

M. Gingues agit régulièrement à titre de contrôleur en vertu de la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies et de syndic autorisé en insolvabilité en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité, et il a participé à plusieurs restructurations consensuelles de dettes.

Champs d’expertise

  • Restructuration financière et redressement d’entreprises
  • Vente d’entreprises et d'unités d’exploitation en contexte d’insolvabilité ou en situations particulières
  • Refinancement
  • Restructuration des dettes et des capitaux propres
  • Arrangements financiers et faillites

Domaines de spécialisation

  • Fabrication et transformation
  • Commerce de détail
  • Télécommunications
  • Haute technologie
  • Biotechnologie
  • Agriculture
  • Alimentation
  • Édition
  • Immobilier

Formation

  • Professionnel agréé de l’insolvabilité et de la réorganisation (CIRP), 1999
  • Syndic autorisé en insolvabilité, 1999
  • Comptable professionnel agréé (CPA, CA), 1985
  • B.A.A., Université de Sherbrooke, 1985

Reconnaissance publique

Au cours de sa carrière, M. Gingues a prononcé de nombreuses allocutions portant sur un éventail élargi de sujets liés à l’insolvabilité, à la restructuration, aux transactions complexes, et ce, auprès d’un grand nombre d’associations professionnelles et d’organismes divers.

M. Gingues est régulièrement sollicité par différents médias reconnus qui souhaitent faire appel à ses conseils à titre d’expert. Sa participation englobe notamment des interventions dans La Presse, Les Affaires, Le Droit, Le Journal de Montréal, The Gazette, Le Soleil et le Wall Street Journal.