David Pelletier

CBV, MBA, LL.B.

Vice-President

Contact

Phone: 514.934.3417
Fax: 514.934.3504
Address: 1981 McGill College, 11th Floor
Montréal, QC H3A 0G6

Services:

Litigation & Forensic Accounting, Transaction Advisory Services, Business Valuation, Consulting Services

Career Profile

David Pelletier has been providing financial advisory services to Richter’s clients for more than 15 years. Over the course of his career, he has acquired expertise in the areas of business valuation, litigation support and forensic accounting, and mergers as well as acquisitions/divestitures. He obtained his Chartered Business Valuator (CBV) designation in 2006.

David has conducted valuations of small, medium and large enterprises on behalf of stakeholders, including shareholders, creditors and directors. He was involved in the preparation of fairness opinions pursuant to mandates received by independent committees of public companies, as well as the preparation of formal valuations pursuant to Rule 61-101 of the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) and the Autorité des marchés financiers (“AMF”), in Quebec, concerning the protection of minority security holders in special transactions. He was also involved in the preparation of fairness opinions or valuations for proceedings under either the Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act (CCAA) or the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

David has provided business valuation advisory services to several clients, including the AMF and some institutional clients with respect to Business Valuation issues and reviewed several investments, including financial instruments.

Moreover, David has acquired extensive experience in litigation support, including the assessment of business value and quantification of financial prejudice, and has co-written expert reports on these matters. He has also served as an expert witness before the Courts a few times, including the Quebec Superior Court and the Tribunal administratif du Québec.


In addition, David has lead several due diligence mandates of investment funds, notably in the venture capital sector, with respect to management practices, governance and conflict of interests mechanisms, and profitability.

Finally, David has managed several business divestitures, acting as an advisor to the sellers to determine the value of their shares, negotiate the financial terms of the transaction and coordinate the due diligence process.

Academic Background and Professionnal Affiliations

  • Member of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Business Valuators (CICBV), since 2006
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA Coop), 1998
  • Member of the Québec Bar Association, since 1996
  • Bachelor of Law (LL.B.), Université de Montréal, 1995

Professional Experience

  • Vice-President, Richter, since 2011
  • Senior Associate, Richter, 2008 - 2010
  • Financial Analyst and Associate, Richter, 1999-2008
  • MBA Internship, Hydro-Québec CapiTech Inc. 1998
  • Articling student, Desjardins Ducharme Stein Monast – 1996 

Presentations and Publications

  • Training sessions on business valuation at various law firms for practitioners specializing in commercial litigation, corporate law and taxation.
  • Speaker at two Canadian Institute workshops on business valuation for non-financial professionals and managers(Montreal, October 14, 2008 and Quebec, November 21, 2008).  
  • Co-editor of Let’s Talk Numbers, a newsletter launched by Richter’s Business Advisory Services team in January 2012.
  •  “The Secrets of Success to Selling a Business,” Let’s Talk Numbers, November 2013.
  • In collaboration with Andrew Michelin, “Minority shareholders: Is the value of your interest the one you expected?” Let’s Talk Numbers, November 2012.
  • Céder sa société : l’argent ou la pérennité de l’entreprise avant tout?”  Génération INC. (online), October 31, 2012.
  • “Entrepreneurs and the succession issue,” Let’s Talk Numbers, January 2012.
  • Lambert-Chan, Marie. “David Pelletier, expert en evaluation d’entreprises,” La Presse.ca (online), October 28, 2013.
  • Hacker-B, Daphnée. “L’avocat dans le bergerie,”  Droit-inc. (online), January 31, 2013.

David Pelletier

EEE (CBV), M.B.A., LL.B.

Vice-président

Coordonnées

Téléphone : 514.934.3417
Télécopieur : 514.934.3504
Adresse : 1981 McGill College, 11e étage
Montréal (QC) H3A 0G6

Services :

Juricomptabilité , Services-conseils transactionnels, Évaluation d’entreprises, Services-conseils

Profil de carrière

M. David Pelletier offre des services-conseils financiers à la clientèle de Richter depuis plus de 15 ans. Au cours de sa carrière, il a acquis une expertise dans les domaines de l’évaluation d’entreprises, de la juricomptabilité, des fusions et acquisitions et des dessaisissements. Il a obtenu le titre d’expert en évaluation d’entreprises (EEE) en 2006.

M. Pelletier a réalisé plusieurs évaluations de petites, moyennes et grandes entreprises pour le compte de parties intéressées, y compris des actionnaires, des créanciers et des administrateurs. Il a participé à la préparation d’attestations d’équité pour des comités indépendants de sociétés ouvertes et à la préparation d’évaluations officielles en vertu du Règlement 61-101 de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario et de l’Autorité des marchés financiers (Québec) portant sur les mesures de protection des porteurs minoritaires lors d’opérations particulières. M. Pelletier a conseillé l’Autorité des marchés financiers et certains clients institutionnels en matière d’évaluation d’entreprises et procédé à la révision de plusieurs placements / instruments financiers.

M. Pelletier a aussi acquis une expérience considérable aux fins du soutien en matière de litiges financiers, y compris l’évaluation de valeur d’entreprise et la quantification du préjudice financier, et il a co-signé plusieurs rapports d’expertise. Il a également témoigné à quelques reprises devant la Cour supérieure du Québec et le Tribunal administratif du Québec.

En outre, M. Pelletier a piloté plusieurs mandats de vérification diligente de fonds d’investissement, dont dans le secteur du capital de risque, concernant les pratiques administratives, les mécanismes de gouvernance et de gestion des conflits d’intérêts, et le rendement.

Enfin, M. Pelletier a géré plusieurs processus de dessaisissements d’entreprises, à titre de conseiller pour les vendeurs, incluant l’évaluation de leurs actions, la négociation des modalités financières de transactions et la coordination de contrôles diligents.

Formation académique et affiliations professionnelles

  • Membre de l’Institut canadien des experts en évaluation d’entreprises (2006)
  • Université de Sherbrooke, Maîtrise en administration des affaires (MBA Coopératif) (1998)
  • Membre du Barreau du Québec (1996)
  • Université de Montréal, Baccalauréat en droit (1995)

Expériences professionnelles

  • Vice-président, Richter  (Depuis 2011)
  • Conseiller principal, Richter (2008 - 2010)
  • Analyste financier et conseiller, Richter (1999-2008)
  • Stagiaire MBA, Hydro-Québec CapiTech Inc. (1998 – 4 mois)
  • Desjardins Ducharme Stein Monast, Stagiaire en droit – Avocats (1996)

Implication sociale

David Pelletier est membre du conseil d’administration et secrétaire-trésorier de l’organisme sans but lucratif Le Cube, Centre international de recherche et création en théâtre pour l’enfance et la jeunesse.

La mission du cube est de favoriser l’évolution, l’enrichissement et le développement de la création et de la pratique théâtrale destinée à l’enfance et à la jeunesse aux niveaux local, national, international et assurer aux compagnies de théâtre fondatrices (Le Carrousel et Le Clou !) les conditions favorables à la pratique de leur art. Ce projet s’inscrit dans le cadre de la conversion de l’église Sainte-Brigide-de-Kildare à Montréal.

Présentations et publications

  • Séances de formation portant sur l’évaluation d’entreprises à des praticiens œuvrant en litige commercial, en droit corporatif et en fiscalité au sein de cabinets d’avocats.
  • Conférencier dans le cadre de deux ateliers intitulés « L’évaluation d’une entreprise : immersion pratique » offerts à des professionnels non financiers et à des cadres d’entreprises invités par l’Institut Canadien (Montréal, 14 octobre 2008 et Québec, 21 novembre 2008).
  • Coéditeur du bulletin d’information Parlons chiffres, mis sur pied par Richter en janvier 2012.
  • « Le secret d’une vente d’entreprise réussie », Parlons chiffres, novembre 2013.
  • En collaboration avec Michelin, Andrew, « Actionnaires minoritaires : la valeur de votre participation correspond-elle à vos attentes? », Parlons chiffres, novembre 2012.
  • « Céder sa société : l’argent ou la pérennité de l’entreprise avant tout? », Génération INC. (en ligne), 31 octobre 2012.
  • « Relève entrepreneuriale : quelles sont les options? », Parlons chiffres, janvier 2012.
  • Lambert-Chan, Marie. « David Pelletier, expert en évaluation d’entreprises », La Presse.ca (en ligne), 28 octobre 2013.