Danny Ritter

CPA, CA, CFA

Partner

Contact

Phone: 514.934.3546
Fax: 514.934.3408
Address: 1981 McGill College, 11th Floor
Montréal, QC H3A 0G6

Services:

Richter Family Office

Danny Ritter has led Richter Family Office since 2001. The approach he takes in advising families is unique in several ways. Danny assists families in gaining a better understanding of their investment objectives using different concepts of how a family might think about their return and risk requirements. His appreciation and insight as to the impact of investor psychology is critical in increasing the probability of achieving the family's investment objectives. The advice Danny provides is highly analytical, yet at the same time personal and accessible to families. It is also steeped in the philosophy of being independent and objective. The resulting portfolio construction is aligned solely based on the families' interests. 

Danny has used his decades of experience through different market cycles to inform the selection of investment managers and solutions. Managers are recommended only after extensive understanding of their investment management processes and the determination that any particular manager's process to achieve their track record is defined and thereby potentially repeatable. Danny respects the value added through risk reduction via thoughtful asset diversification which may incorporate more niche and/or less liquid strategies. Investment solutions that respect capital by mitigating losses or that offer returns that are less correlated with mainstream asset classes are sought after with rigor and a healthy dose of skepticism.

As a Chartered Public Accountant and Certified Financial Analyst, he also ensures that the advice and investment solutions are evaluated from an after-tax perspective, which is often overlooked in portfolio construction.

Danny is regularly asked to speak at international investment conferences, referencing his extensive technical skills in all facets of portfolio management and his holistic understanding of family financial matters.

Fields of expertise

  • Investment manager selection
  • Asset allocation
  • Portfolio construction
  • Tax-sensitive strategies
  • Negotiated access to niche investment opportunities
  • Extensive exposure to alternative investment strategies 

Academic background

  • CFA Charterholder, 2002
  • Canadian Securities Course, (Honours, Award of Excellence for Exceptional Academic Achievement), 1999
  • Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA), 1996
  • Graduate Diploma in Financial Accounting, McGill University, 1995
  • B.Com, McGill University (Great Distinction, Dean’s Honour List), 1993

Professional and community involvement

  • Save a Child’s Heart Canada, Board Member since 2015
  • Richter LLP, Board Member since 2010
  • Agence Ometz, Board Member since 2008
  • McGill University Endowment, Investment Committee Member since 2008
  • PME Fund, Funding Committee Member since 2008
  • Jewish Community Foundation of Montreal (JCF), Board Member and Investment Committee Member since 2006
  • CFA Institute (The Global Association of Investment Professionals), member since 2003
  • Autorité des marchés financiers, Portfolio Manager since 2001

Danny Ritter

CPA, CA, CFA

Associé

Coordonnées

Téléphone : 514.934.3546
Télécopieur : 514.934.3408
Adresse : 1981 McGill College, 11e étage
Montréal (QC) H3A 0G6

Services :

Bureau familial Richter

M. Danny Ritter dirige le Bureau familial Richter depuis 2001. L’approche qu’il adopte pour conseiller les familles est unique à plusieurs égards. En effet, M. Ritter aide les familles à mieux comprendre leurs objectifs de placement, en leur exposant plusieurs manières dont elles peuvent envisager leures exigences en matière de rendement et de risque. La compréhension et l’intuition de M. Ritter en ce qui a trait à l’incidence de la psychologie de l’investisseur jouent un rôle crucial dans l’augmentation des probabilités que la famille conseillée atteigne ses objectifs de placement. Les conseils prodigués par M. Ritter sont très analytiques, tout en étant personnalisés et compréhensibles pour les familles. Il est profondément imprégné de la philosophie qui prône l’indépendance et l’objectivité. Par conséquent, il tient exclusivement compte des intérêts des familles lors de l’établissement des portefeuilles de placement. 

M. Ritter fait appel à ses dizaines d’années d’expérience et à sa connaissance des différents cycles du marché pour effectuer le choix des gestionnaires et des solutions de placement. Il ne recommande un gestionnaire qu’après avoir étudié à fond ses processus de gestion de placement et déterminé que le processus utilisé par celui-ci pour atteindre les résultats est défini et donc potentiellement répétable. Il reconnaît que la réduction du risque apporte de la valeur ajoutée, c’est pourquoi il favorise une diversification éclairée des actifs qui peut intégrer des stratégies spécialisées ou moins liquides. Il recherche, de manière rigoureuse et en appliquant une bonne dose de scepticisme, des solutions de placement qui tiennent compte du capital tout en atténuant les pertes ou qui offrent des rendements moins liés aux catégories d’actif populaires.

À titre de Comptable professionnel agréé et de Certified Financial Analyst, il s’assure d’offrir à sa clientèle des conseils et des solutions de placement qui tiennent compte des impôts, un élément souvent négligé lors de l’établissement d’un portefeuille.

M. Ritter est invité à titre de conférencier lors de conférences internationales sur les placements en raison de ses compétences techniques étendues de toutes les facettes de la gestion de portefeuilles et de sa compréhension globale des enjeux financiers auxquels font face les familles.

Champs d’expertise

  • Sélection de gestionnaires dactifs
  • Répartition dactifs
  • Établissement de portefeuilles de placement
  • Stratégies de réduction dimpôts
  • Occasions de placement ciblées
  • Grande exposition à des stratégies de placement alternatives

Engagement professionnel et social

  • Membre du conseil d’administration de Save a Child’s Heart Canada, Depuis 2015
  • Membre du Conseil d’administration de Richter S.E.N.C.R.L., Depuis 2010
  • Membre du conseil d’administration de Agence Ometz, Depuis 2008
  • Membre du comité de placements de l'Université McGill – Fonds de dotation, Depuis 2008
  • Membre du comité de financement des Fonds PME, Depuis 2008
  • Membre du Conseil d’administration et membre du comité Investissements de la Fondation communautaire juive de Montréal, Depuis 2006
  • Membre de CFA Institute (The Global Association of Investment Professionals), Depuis 2003
  • Gestionnaire de portefeuille de Autorité des marchés financiers, Depuis 2001

Formation académique

  • Détenteur de la charte CFA, 2002
  • Cours sur le commerce des valeurs mobilières au Canada (avec distinction, prix d’excellence pour la qualité du dossier d’études), 1999
  • Comptable professionnel agréé (CPA, CA), 1996
  • Diplôme supérieur en comptabilité générale, Université McGill, 1995
  • B. Com., Université McGill, 1993 (avec grande distinction, palmarès du doyen)