Yves Vincent

FCPA, FCA, CIRP, LIT

Consultant

Contact

Phone: 514.934.3454
Fax: 514.934.3504
Address: 1981 McGill College, 11th Floor
Montréal, QC H3A 0G6

Services:

Insolvency & Restructuring, Consulting Services

Career Profile

With over 35 years’ experience Yves Vincent has built a solid reputation amongst lawyers, bankers and debtors. He is a talented negotiator with extensive expertise in the area of corporate reorganizations and restructurings. As a highly-respected consultant he has helped many companies overcome difficult obstacles with his ability to apply workable solutions to complex problems.

Professional Career

As a true leader at the firm Yves has made many significant contributions to developing the consulting group’s insolvency, financial recovery, forensic accounting and corporate finance services. He has not only been very involved in managing and providing guidance to the Richter Advisory Group Inc. (Richter), but has also played a role in training and developing our team of professionals.

In conjunction with his colleagues, he has succeeded in making Richter the most prestigious consulting firm in turnarounds and insolvency in the Quebec market, and one of the largest in the country. As one of the firm's senior practitioners in this field, he is involved in most of the firm's major mandates.

Career Path

Clarkson Gordon (1973 to 1984) 

  • First employer after completing university (1973-1978)
  • Promoted to Audit Supervisor (1978-1979)
  • Transferred to the position of Supervisor – Recovery and Insolvency (1979-1984)

Richter Advisory Group Inc. / Richter LLP (1984 to date)

  • Senior manager – recovery and insolvency (1984 -1987)
  • Partner – financial consulting, financial recovery and insolvency (1987 to date)
  • Chairman of the Management and Operations Committee of the firm’s insolvency, recovery, forensic accounting and corporate finance group (2002 – 2004)
  • Member of Richter’s Board of Directors (2000 – 2016)

Academic Background

  • B. Com., Sir George Williams University (Concordia), 1973
  • Accounting certificate, McGill University, 1976
  • Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA), 1976
  • Chartered Insolvency and Restructuring Professional (CIRP), 1985
  • Licensed Insolvency Trustee, 1985
  • Fellow of the Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec (FCPA, FCA), 2005

Professional activities

Yves Vincent is in high demand as a presenter to special interest groups. His broad range of financial consulting, financial recovery and business restructuring expertise is much sought after and his commentary is held in high regard.

Yves has presided over symposia and has been a panelist on a number of occasions, together with several renowned attorneys and Quebec Superior Court judges, to focus on various insolvency-related topics.  These high-level symposia are very popular among chartered accountants, bankers, attorneys and insolvency professionals. A number of his texts have been circulated in connection with these conferences.

Topics covered

  • Amendments to the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
  • Implications of the new Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act
  • Companies’ Creditors Arrangements Act
  • New financial restructuring trends
  • Ambiguities in business sales
  • Real estate management
  • Early warning signs of insolvency
  • Jurisprudence
  • Case studies based on current events
  • Training new Licensed Insolvency Trustees

Professional associations 

Yves Vincent is an active member of the Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals (CAIRP) and of the Association québécoise des professionnels de la réorganisation et de l’insolvabilité. He continues to provide consultation when necessary to these associations as well as to the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy regarding the administration of, and amendments to, the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act.
  • Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec – chartered accountant (1976)
  • Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals – CIRP (1985)
  • Association québécoise des professionnels de la réorganisation et de l'insolvabilité (AQPRI)
Member (1985)
                Vice President (1988 - 1990)
President (1990 - 1991)

  • The Insolvency Institute of Canada – a prestigious association of only 125 members, all of whom are highly experienced attorneys and insolvency practitioners
Member (2001)
Involved in work session focussing on amendments to insolvency legislation 
Member of the Board of Directors (2006 - 2010)

  • Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montréal – Active member

Conferences

Over the course of his career, Yves has frequently been a guest speaker before many professional associations and other organizations on a variety of topics, including insolvency and restructuring issues and major transactions.

Publications and Media

Yves is regularly asked by recognized media organizations to provide expert advice. Among other things, he was interviewed for and made other contributions to articles in La Presse, Les Affaires, Le Droit, Le Journal de Montréal, The Gazette and Le Soleil.

Yves Vincent

FCPA, FCA, CIRP, SAI

Consultant

Coordonnées

Téléphone : 514.934.3454
Télécopieur : 514.934.3504
Adresse : 1981 McGill College, 11e étage
Montréal (QC) H3A 0G6

Services :

Insolvabilité et restructuration, Services-conseils

Profil de carrière

Comptant plus de 35 années d’expérience, M. Yves Vincent jouit d’une excellente réputation auprès des avocats, des banquiers et des débiteurs, notamment pour son expertise approfondie en matière de réorganisation et de restructuration d’entreprises. Conseiller respecté, M. Vincent est reconnu comme étant un négociateur de grand talent qui met l’accent sur la survie des entreprises. Professionnel à l’esprit pratique, il se distingue par son habileté à cerner les problèmes et à mettre en œuvre des solutions efficaces.

Carrière professionnelle

M. Vincent est un membre clé du cabinet et a activement contribué à la mise en place du groupe de consultation en matière d’insolvabilité, de redressement, de juricomptabilité et de financement d’entreprise. Il a joué un rôle important non seulement dans la gestion et l’orientation de Richter Groupe Conseil Inc., mais aussi dans la formation et la mise sur pied de l’équipe professionnelle. 

Il a réussi, avec ses confrères, à faire de Richter le cabinet de consultation en redressement et en insolvabilité le plus prestigieux du marché québécois et l’un des plus importants du pays. Il va sans dire qu’il a participé à la majorité des mandats d’envergure. 

Cheminement de carrière

Clarkson Gordon (De 1973 à 1984)

  • Premier emploi postuniversitaire (De 1973 à 1978)
  • Promu chef d’équipe, vérification  (De 1978 à 1979)
  • Transfert à titre de chef d’équipe, insolvabilité et redressement (De 1979 à 1984)

Richter Groupe Conseil  Inc. / Richter S.E.N.C.R.L (Depuis 1984)

  • Chef d’équipe principal, insolvabilité et redressement (De 1984 à 1987)
  • Associé, Consultation financière, insolvabilité et redressement (Depuis 1987)
  • Président du comité de gestion et d’exploitation du groupe de Consultation en matière d’insolvabilité, de redressement, de juricomptabilité et de financement d’entreprises (De 2000 à 2004)
  • Membre du conseil d’administration du cabinet (De 2000 à 2016)

            Vous trouverez un aperçu de l'expérience professionnelle de M. Vincent en annexe.

Formation académique

  • B. Com., Université Sir George Williams (Concordia), 1973
  • Certificat en comptabilité, Université McGill, 1976
  • Comptable professionnel agréé (CPA, CA), 1976
  • Professionnel agréé de l’insolvabilité et de la réorganisation (CIRP), 1985
  • Syndic autorisé en insolvabilité, 1985
  • Fellow de l’Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec (FCPA, FCA), 2005

Activités professionnelles

M. Vincent est invité sur une base régulière à participer à des groupes d’intérêt. Son expertise variée dans les domaines de la consultation financière, du redressement et de la restructuration d’entreprise en fait un professionnel recherché pour ses commentaires et son expérience.

Il a présidé des colloques et a participé à des groupes d’experts à plusieurs reprises sur une variété de sujets liés au domaine de l’insolvabilité et regroupant plusieurs avocats de renom et des juges de la Cour supérieure du Québec. Ces colloques de haut calibre rassemblent des comptables professionnels agréés, des banquiers, des avocats et des praticiens de l’insolvabilité. Plusieurs textes dont il est l’auteur ont été distribués dans le cadre de ces conférences.

Quelques sujets présentés

  • Refonte de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité
  • Incidences de la nouvelle Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité
  • Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies
  • Nouvelles tendances de la restructuration financière
  • Vente d’entreprise et ses ambiguïtés
  • Gestion immobilière
  • Signes avant-coureurs liés à l’insolvabilité
  • Dossiers jurisprudentiels
  • Études de cas d’actualité
  • Formation des nouveaux syndics autorisés en insolvabilité

Associatons professionnelles

M. Vincent est un membre actif au sein de l’Association canadienne des professionnels de l’insolvabilité et de la réorganisation et de l’Association québécoise des professionnels de la réorganisation et de l’insolvabilité, et il continue d’être consulté autant par ces associations que par le Bureau du surintendant des faillites en ce qui concerne l’administration et la refonte de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité.

  • Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec – comptable agréé (1976)
  • Association canadienne des professionnels de l’insolvabilité et de la réorganisation (ACPIR) – CIRP (1985)
  • Association québécoise des professionnels de la réorganisation et de l’insolvabilité (AQPRI)
          • Adhésion (1985)
          • Vice-président (1988-1990)
          • Président (1990 - 1991)
  • Institut d’insolvabilité du Canada (The Insolvency Institute of Canada) : prestigieuse association qui ne compte que 125 membres, lesquels sont des avocats et des praticiens chevronnés du domaine de l’insolvabilité
          • Adhésion (2001)
          • Participation à la séance de travail concernant les modifications aux lois dans le domaine de l'insolvabilité
          • Membre du conseil d'administration (De 2006 à 2010)
  • Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain - Membre actif

Conférences

Au cours de sa carrière, M. Vincent a prononcé de nombreuses allocutions portant sur un large éventail de sujets liés à l’insolvabilité, à la restructuration, aux transactions d’envergure, etc., auprès d’un grand nombre d’associations professionnelles et d’organismes divers.

Publications et interventions dans les médias

M. Vincent est régulièrement sollicité par différents médias reconnus souhaitant faire appel à ses conseils experts. Il a notamment accordé des entrevues et réalisé d’autres interventions dans La Presse, Les Affaires, Le Droit, Le Journal de Montréal, The Gazette, Le Soleil, etc.