Transfer Pricing

Business is global - Tax is local

The global economy has opened up international markets to all businesses; telecommunications, the internet and ease of trading across borders has made it simple for businesses of all sizes to offer their products and services in many markets around the world.  In addition, outsourcing of business processes and access to lower labour cost markets have increased the volume and variety of business transactions across borders.

This increased globalization brings many complexities that require adept navigation and management by business owners. Today, international business is no longer the exclusive realm of Fortune 500 companies that have extensive resources to deal with these complex issues.

As globalization becomes easier, tax authorities have become increasingly concerned with protecting their tax revenue base. In the last decade, many countries have instituted rules that attempt to regulate the pricing of goods and services exchanged between members of a multinational group (“transfer pricing”) in order to prevent an unfair allocation of profits for tax motivated purposes.

Transfer pricing requirements cannot be ignored considering the intricacy of international business, aggressive auditing by tax authorities and the magnitude of financial repercussions including double taxation. Barring compliance obligations, companies have found that transfer pricing can be regarded as an opportunity to structure international operations in a tax-efficient manner. Beyond minimizing tax exposures, it can provide useful insight into the business, increase operational efficiency and optimize global tax liabilities.

Richter’s international tax professionals understand your business, industry, processes and value drivers. Going beyond providing analysis, drafting reports and making recommendations, we take a practical, proactive and hands-on approach to help you develop and implement an appropriate strategy to ensure compliance, create business value and minimize transfer pricing risks.

Planning

Plans take into account business operations, as well as tax implications, to any international structuring. Our team draws on its understanding of your business model to identify the most suitable transfer pricing policy and help implement these recommendations.

Compliance

Our experience among diverse industries and countries provides the tools necessary to help you navigate through complex transfer pricing requirements. Compliance does not end with an analysis. We will assist you in monitoring and adjusting your transfer pricing policy on an ongoing basis.

Audit defence

Richter’s professionals have extensive experience in providing transfer pricing audit support. Successfully defending your company’s transfer pricing policy starts with sufficient and appropriate documentation. With the increasingly aggressive approach towards transfer pricing audits, our experience has given us valuable insight into the issues that revenue authorities pay particular attention to and their interpretation on various transfer pricing issues.

Expert Showcase

Prix de transfert

Activités internationales; imposition locale

L’économie mondiale a ouvert les marchés internationaux à toutes les entreprises : grâce aux télécommunications, à Internet et à la facilité avec laquelle il est maintenant possible de transiger à l’étranger, il est plus simple pour les entreprises de toutes tailles d’offrir leurs produits et leurs services dans de nombreux marchés autour du monde. En outre, l’externalisation des processus d’affaires et l’accès à des coûts de main-d’œuvre plus faibles ont favorisé la croissance et la variété des opérations commerciales transfrontalières.

Cette mondialisation accrue entraîne toutefois son lot complexités qui exige une gestion plus habile de la part des propriétaires d’entreprises. Aujourd’hui, le commerce mondial n’est plus l’apanage des sociétés du Fortune 500 qui ont accès à des ressources importantes pour traiter ces questions complexes.

Puisque les transactions internationales deviennent courantes, les autorités fiscales se préoccupent davantage de la protection de leur assiette fiscale. Au cours de la dernière décennie, de nombreux pays ont adopté des règles visant à encadrer l’établissement des prix des produits et des services échangés entre les membres d’un groupe multinational (les « prix de transfert »), dans le but de prévenir une répartition non équitable des bénéfices à des fins fiscales.

Les exigences en matière de prix de transfert ne peuvent être ignorées compte tenu de la complexité du commerce international, des vérifications poussées effectuées par les autorités fiscales et de l’ampleur des répercussions financières, notamment la double imposition. Mises à part les obligations de conformité, les entreprises ont constaté que les prix de transfert permettent de structurer les activités internationales, tout en maximisant l’efficience fiscale. En de plus de réduire les impôts à payer, une analyse des prix de transfert apporte une compréhension utile des activités, accroît l’efficacité opérationnelle et optimise les impôts à payer à l’international.

Les professionnels en fiscalité internationale de Richter comprennent vos activités, votre industrie, vos processus et vos inducteurs de valeur. En allant bien au-delà des analyses, des rapports et des recommandations, nous adoptons une approche pratique, proactive et participative : nous vous aidons à concevoir et à mettre en œuvre une stratégie de prix de transfert adéquate qui vous permettra de vous conformer aux exigences, de créer de la valeur commerciale et de minimiser les risques liés au prix de transfert.

Planification

La planification tient compte des activités de l’entreprise ainsi que des répercussions fiscales associées à toute structure internationale. Notre équipe tire parti de sa compréhension de votre modèle d’entreprise pour établir la politique de prix de transfert la plus appropriée et vous assister dans sa mise en œuvre.

Conformité

Grâce à notre expérience de divers secteurs et pays, nous sommes outillés pour vous aider à y voir clair dans le monde complexe des exigences relatives aux prix de transfert. La conformité ne se limite pas à une analyse ponctuelle. Nous vous assistons de façon continue dans la surveillance et le rajustement de votre politique de prix de transfert.

Assistance lors d’un audit

Les professionnels de Richter possèdent une vaste expérience des services de soutien en matière d’audit de prix de transfert. Pour défendre avec succès la politique de prix de transfert de votre société, il vous faut d’abord une documentation suffisante et adéquate. Dans un contexte où les audits de prix de transfert se font de plus en plus pointilleux, notre expérience s’avère fort utile pour bien comprendre les éléments qui préoccupent les autorités fiscales et leur interprétation des diverses questions touchant les prix de transfert.

Experts