UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF MAINE

)	
In re)	
)	
MONTREAL MAINE & ATLANTIC)	CHAPTER 11
RAILWAY, LTD.)	CASE NO. 13-10670-LHK
)	
Debtor)	

NOTICE OF APPEAL

The Unofficial Committee of Wrongful Death Claimants (the "Committee"), consisting of representatives of the estates of the 47 victims of the massive explosion in Lac-Mégantic, Quebec, from the derailment of a train operated by the Debtor (the "Wrongful Death Claimants"), hereby appeals under 28 U.S.C. § 158(a) from (i) the Order entered on October 18, 2013 [Docket No. 392] granting the Trustee's Motion to Approve and Authorize the Trustee to Enter Into Stipulation Concerning Carveout from the Collateral of the Federal Railroad Administration Pursuant to 11 U.S.C. §§105(a), 363(b), 506(c), 1163 and 1165 (the "Carveout Motion"), and (ii) the Order entered by the Court on January 23, 2014 [Docket No. 589] denying the Wrongful Death Claimants' motion for reconsideration of order granting the Carveout Motion.

The names of all parties to the order appealed from and the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of their respective attorneys are as follows:

PARTY	ATTORNEYS
Robert J. Keach in his capacity as chapter	Robert J. Keach, Esq.
11 trustee of Montreal Maine & Atlantic	D. Sam Anderson, Esq.
Railway, Ltd.	Michael A. Fagone, Esq.
	Bernstein, Shur, Sawyer & Nelson, P.A.
	100 Middle Street, West Tower

¹ The victims and the representatives of their estates are listed in Exhibit A to this Notice. Solely for the avoidance of doubt as to standing, this notice is filed on behalf of all members of the Committee as well as the Committee itself.

	P.O. Box 9729
	Portland, ME 04104-5029 (207) 774-1200
Federal Railroad Administration	John T. Stemplewicz, Esq. Matthew J. Troy, Esq.
	Phillip M. Seligman, Esq.
	Civil Division
	U.S. Department of Justice
	P.O. Box 875
	Ben Franklin Station
	Washington, DC 20044
	(202) 514-7194
The Unofficial Committee of Wrongful	George W. Kurr, Jr.
Death Victims	GROSS, MINSKY & MOGUL, P.A.
	23 Water Street, Suite 400
	P. O. Box 917
	Bangor, ME 04402-0917
	Phone: (207) 942-4644 ext. 206
	Fax: (207) 942-3699 gwkurr@grossminsky.com
	gwkuri @ grossiiiiisky.com
	and
	Daniel C. Cohn, pro hac vice
	Taruna Garg, pro hac vice
	MURTHA CULLINA LLP
	99 High Street, 20th Floor
	Boston, Massachusetts 02110
	Phone: (617) 457-4000
	Fax: (617) 482-3868
	dcohn@murthalaw.com tgarg@murthalaw.com
	<u>igarg e murtifataw.com</u>

Dated: February 6, 2014 By: <u>/s/ George W. Kurr, Jr.</u>

George W. Kurr, Jr.

GROSS, MINSKY & MOGUL, P.A.

23 Water Street, Suite 400

P. O. Box 917

Bangor, ME 04402-0917

Phone: (207) 942-4644 ext. 206

Fax: (207) 942-3699

gwkurr@grossminsky.com

and

Daniel C. Cohn, pro hac vice Taruna Garg, pro hac vice MURTHA CULLINA LLP 99 High Street, 20th Floor Boston, Massachusetts 02110 Phone: (617) 457-4000

Fax: (617) 482-3868

Counsel for Appellants, the Unofficial Committee of Wrongful Death Claimants

Exhibit A

1. The estate representatives are Seraphin Alliance (on behalf Alliance, Marie Semie); Elise Dubois Couture (on behalf of Beaudoin, David Lacroix); Pascal Charest (on behalf of Begnoche, Alyssa Charest); Pascal Charest (on behalf of Begnoche, Bianka Charest); Gaston Begnoche (on behalf of Begnoche, Talitha Coumi); Suzanne Bizier, Alain Bizier (on behalf of Bizier, Diane); Caroline Tremblay (on behalf of Bolduc, Guy); Lisette Fortin-Bolduc, (on behalf of Bolduc, Stephane); Genevieve Dube (on behalf of Bouchard, Yannick); Michel Boulanger (on behalf of Boulanger, Eliane Parenteau); Louise Boulet (on behalf of Boulet, Marie-France); Colette Boulet, (on behalf of Boulet, Yves); Isabelle Boulanger, Rene Boutin, Sophie Boutin, Roxanne Boutin (on behalf of Frederic Boutin); Real Breton (on behalf of Breton, Genevieve); Yann Proteau (on behalf of Champagne, Karine); Cynthia Boule, Jean-Guy Boule, Alexandre Boule (on behalf of Sylvia Charron); Louise Courture (on behalf of Clusiault, Kathy); Sonia Pepin; Jeremy Custeau, Theresa Pouliot, Michael Cousteau, Rejean Custeau, Kathleen Bedard, Simon Custeau, Richard Custeau, Sylvie Custeau (on behalf of Real Custeau); Therese Dubois (on behalf of Dubois, Denise); Joannie Proteau, (on behalf of Dubois, Maxime); Maude Faucher (on behalf of Faucher, Marie-Noelle); Guylaine St-Laurent (on behalf of Natachat Gaudreau); Sandy Bedard (on behalf of Guertin Jr., Michel); Raymond Lafontaine, Pierrette Boucher Lafontaine (on behalf of Lafontaine, Gaetan); Pascal Lafontaine (on behalf of Lafontaine, Karine); Clermont Pepin (on behalf of Lajeunesse, Eric Pépin); Marie-Eve Lapierre (on behalf of Lapierre, Stéphane); Diane Belanger (on behalf of Lapointe, Joannie); Marie Josee Grimard (on behalf of Latulippe, Henriette); Georgette Martin (on behalf of David Martin); Karine Paquet (on behalf of Paquet, Roger); Alexia Dumas-Chaput (on behalf of Pelletier, Mathieu); Robert Picard (on behalf of Picard, Louisette Poirer); Mario Poulin (on behalf of Poulin, Marianne); Herbert Ratsch (on behalf of

5054686.1 4

Wifrid Ratsch); Lily Rodrique (on behalf of Rodrique, Martin); Maxime Roy, Carol-Anne Roy (on behalf of Roy, Jean-Pierre); Lise Doyon (on behalf of Roy, Kevin); Rejean Roy (on behalf of Roy, Melissa); Mario Sévigny (on behalf of Sévigny, Andrée-Anne); Michel Sirois, Solange Belanger (on behalf of Sirois, Jimmy); Richard Turcotte, Christine Pulin (on behalf of Turcotte, Elodie); Suzanne Bizier (on behalf of Turmel, Joanie); Francois Poulin, Sylvia Vadnais and Jean Vadnais (on behalf of Lucie Vadnais); Annick Roy (on behalf of Veilleux, Jean-Guy); and Sophie Veilleux (on behalf of Veilleux, Richard).

2. The victims are Marie Semie Alliance, David Lacroix Beaudoin, Alyssa Charest Begnoche, Bianka Charest Begnoche, Talitha Coumi Benoche, Diane Bizier, Guy Bolduc, Stephane Bolduc, Yannick Bouchard, Eliane Parenteau Boulanger, Marie France Boulet, Yves Boulet, Frederic Boutin, Genevieve Breton, Karine Champagne, Sylvia Charron, Kathy Clusiault, Real Custeau, Denise Dubois, Maxime Dubois, Marie-Noelle Faucher, Natachat Gaudreau, Michael Guertin, Jr., Gaetan Lafontaine, Karine Lafontaine, Eric Pepin Lajeunesse, Stephane Lapierre, Joannie Lapointe, Henriette Latulippe, David Martin, Roger Paquet, Mathieu Pelletier, Louisette Poirer Picard, Marianne Poulin, Wifrid Ratsch, Martin Rodrique, Jean Pierre Roy, Kevin Roy, Melissa Roy, Andree-Anne Sevigny, Jimmy Sirios, Elodie Turcotte, Joanie Turmel, Lucie Vadnais, Jean-Guy Veilleux and Richard Veilleux.