Scott Binns

CPA, CA

Principal

Contact

Phone: 514.934.3598
Fax: 514.934.3408
Address: 1981 McGill College, 11th Floor
Montréal, QC H3A 0G6

Services:

Tax

Scott Binns is a partner in Richter’s Canadian Tax division. He specializes in estate planning, providing families and individuals tailored services in the area of estate administration. As an approachable professional, Scott uses his strong technical skills to relay complex tax concepts, and ensures his clients have a comprehensive understanding of their situation. Scott is also well-versed in all aspects of corporate and personal tax planning and Canadian income tax compliance matters, including issues relating to trusts, partnerships and individuals.

Scott combines these areas of expertise to create a centralized and holistic work approach that puts his clients’ needs at the center of every engagement. In this way, Scott not only provides tax services, he ensures the long-term prosperity of his clients’ companies and families.

Scott’s technical expertise is recognized by his peers, both at Richter and outside of the firm. He plays an important role in the Richter’s tax training programs, having initiated the firm’s onboarding tax program for new employees. He was also an evaluator for the Common Final Examination (CFE) for CPA Canada for several years,led the Part I In-depth Taxation course for CPA Canada, as well as  a course for the Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec. Scott is also an active participant in the Canadian Tax Foundation’s training programs.

Fields of expertise

  • Corporate reorganizations
  • Estate planning
  • Canadian income tax compliance: Corporations,Trusts,Partnerships and Individuals

Academic Background

  • Lecturer, Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec, 2013
  • Lecturer, Level I In-depth Tax Course, CPA Canada, 2011
  • Leadership Diploma, McGill University, 2010
  • Levels I-III In-depth Tax Course, Corporate Reorganization, CPA Canada, 2003-2008
  • Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA), 2001
  • Graduate Diploma in Accountancy, Concordia University, 2000
  • B.Com, Accounting and Finance, Concordia University, 1998

Professional Affiliations and Community Involvement

  • Member of the Quebec Order of Chartered Professional Accountants, since 2001
  • Member of the Canadian Tax Foundation (CTF), since 2002
  • Member of the CPA Canada, since 2002

Professional and community involvement

  • Member of the organizing committee for the CTF’s estate planning conference 2017
  • Canadian Tax Foundation (CTF), Member, Since 2002
  • CPA Canada, Member since 2002

Public recognition

  • Speaker. “The New Trust Rules: More than just losing graduated rates”, Canadian Tax Foundation, Technical Seminar, Feb. 18, 2016

Scott Binns

CPA, CA

Associé

Coordonnées

Téléphone : 514.934.3598
Télécopieur : 514.934.3408
Adresse : 1981 McGill College, 11e étage
Montréal (QC) H3A 0G6

Services :

Fiscalité

M.Scott Binns est associé au sein de la division de la Fiscalité canadienne chez Richter. Il se spécialise en planification successorale et offre des services personnalisés aux familles et aux particuliers dans le cadre de l’administration des successions. Reconnu pour sa disponibilité, M. Binns met à profit ses solides compétences techniques pour transmettre les concepts fiscaux complexes et s’assurer que ses clients comprennent parfaitement leur situation. Il possède également une excellente maîtrise de tous les aspects liés à la planification fiscale pour les particuliers et les sociétés et à la conformité à la législation fiscale du Canada, y compris les questions touchant les fiducies, les sociétés de personnes et les particuliers.

M. Binns combine ces domaines d’expertise pour créer une approche de travail centralisée et holistique qui met les besoins de son client au centre de chaque mission. Ainsi, il fournit des services fiscaux et garantit la prospérité à long terme des entreprises et des membres de la famille de ses clients.

L’expertise technique de M. Binns est reconnue par ses pairs, tant chez Richter qu’à l’extérieur du cabinet. Il joue un rôle important au sein des programmes de formation en fiscalité du cabinet et il a mis sur pied le programme d’accueil et d’intégration en fiscalité pour les nouveaux employés de Richter. En outre, il a été évaluateur dans le cadre de l’Examen final commun (EFC) de CPA Canada pendant plusieurs années et a donné le cours Niveau I du Cours fondamental d’impôt de CPA Canada ainsi qu’un cours à l’Ordre des CPA du Québec. M. Binns participe aussi activement aux programmes de formation de la Fondation canadienne de fiscalité.

Champs d’expertise

  • Réorganisations d’entreprises
  • Planification successorale
  • Conformité à la législation fiscale du Canada pour les sociétés, les fiducies, les sociétés de personnes et les particuliers

Formation

  • Chargé de cours, Ordre des CPA du Québec, 2013
  • Chargé de cours, Niveau I du Cours fondamental d’impôt, CPA Canada, 2011
  • Diplôme en leadership, Université McGill, 2010
  • Niveaux I à III du Cours fondamental d’impôt, réorganisations d’entreprises, CPA Canada, 2003-2008
  • Comptable professionnel agréé (CPA, CA), 2001
  • Diplôme supérieur en comptabilité, Université Concordia, 2000
  • B. Com. (comptabilité et finances), Université Concordia, 1998

Engagement professionnel et social

  • CPA Canada, membre depuis 2002
  • Fondation canadienne de fiscalité (FCF), membre depuis 2002
  • Comité organisateur, conférence sur la planification successorale de la FCF, membre 2017

Reconnaissance publique

  •  Conférencier. « The New Trust Rules: More than just losing graduated rates », Technical Seminar, Fondation canadienne de fiscalité. Février 2016.